Thread: Information Security Career?

Question Information Security Career?

I am interested in changing career directions. Currently I'm a GIS analyst and interested in going in the direction of Information Security. Can anyone provide some direction and /or guidance regarding training and roadmaps? Specifically, which training orgs are legit and credible. Are there intern or ground level options that allow someone to enter the field and work towards certification/training on their own or on a companies dime? Any guidance/assitance would be greatly appreciated.

It's a niche that's hard to get a foothold. Certifications won't get you where you want to be. An employer would only pay for it if it is pertinent to your current job. A prospective employer would want to see experience, not just certifications.

If you are serious, these are the ways to go:
    http://www.nsa.gov/ia/index.cfm (have to dig around to see participating schools.
    (or)
    check this site for participating schools in Cyber Corps program
    http://www.sfs.opm.gov/

The Federal Cyber Corps Program
    The Cyber Corps Program is open to students currently completing their junior year of undergraduate school or first-year of graduate school. In addition to a stipend of approximately $1,000 per month, the Program pays for each student's tuition for two years, room and board, and travel to conferences.

After one year of training, students complete a summer internship in a federal agency, learning first-hand about computer security issues and putting into practice what they've learned in class. By the end of the second year students earn an undergraduate or graduate degree in computer science in addition to multiple federal-level computer security certificates as endorsed by the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS).