Thread: Slackware networking woes

Slackware networking woes

Hi all,

recently i've installed Slackware 11 on a shiny new machine (yay for tax refunds).

I am more or less a linux newb....ive 'tried' several linux variations, but have resorted back to *god forbid* windoze....

recently, I threw in the towel for windows. Ive been a mac user for the past few years, as I am a graphic designer by trade. Ive still got my XP dell box, and after some issues doing just basic tasks, I decided to give up on windows.

newayz, like I said I've recently installed a fresh Slackware 11 box. All parts, except for the cd and dvd drives, are completely brand spankin' new.

The install went smooth enough, and now I'm in the process of running slackware, both as a file server for my home network, and as a print server for my personal use.

I have been unsuccessful at getting my box to connect to the network. I've posted at linuxquestions.org and was told to edit the:

/etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf
    to un-comment:

USE_DHCP[0]="yes"
    I did so, issued a:

/etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 restart
    logged in as both root and my main user, but stiill have been unable to connect to my network or the net.

I try to enable "eth0" ((KDE, settings, internet & network, network setings)), but as I enable it, it rapidly goes back to disabled (within one second).

any suggestions?

sorry if this is not in the correct forum, i couldnt figure out where to put it.

thanks for your help.

-john

hmmmmm.....well, i issued a static ip, gave up, powered down, booted back up, and now.....

I'm online :-)

sorry if you were going out of your way to help me...but, its working.... :-)

now, onto samba......

-john

Elite Hacker
    Good deal. You probably want a static IP anyway if it's going to be a file/print server on the network. Good luck with Samba and whatever you use for the print server and let us know if you run into any problems.

Hi, just a few things real quick: